Evansville Lutheran School Foundation

Board of Directors

Don Diekmann is the President of the ELS Foundation Board. Don attended Evansville College. After 33 years of service he retired as Marketing Manager of Mohawk Carpet. Their children are alumni of the Lutheran School and their daughter formerly taught at ELS. Their granddaughter, Sarah, currently teaches second grade at ELS. He and his wife Phyllis are St. Paul’s members.

Jason Rouser is a Medical Sales Consultant for Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Jason holds a BS in Business Administration from the University of Southern Indiana. He is a member of Lambda Chi Alpha, Alpha Kappa Psi and has done mission work in Guatemala. Jason is an ELS alumni, class of ‘93 and a member of Redeemer. He is married to Melissa and has a son Ryder and daughter Olivia.

Tony Shull is the principal of Evansville Lutheran School. He and his wife, Cindy, have twin daughters, alumni of ELS, who are in college and a son who attends Bosse High School. Tony holds a BS from St. John College and a MA from Tennessee Tech. Tony and his family are members at Redeemer.

Joe Mitchell serves as the Director of Development for Evansville Lutheran School. He is a retired pastor of thirty two years. He holds a BA in Religion, Philosophy, Speech and Theatre from the University of Indianapolis. He, also, has a Masters of Divinity from Methodist Theological Seminary. He is married to Wynn who teaches at Mater Dei High School and they have two daughters.

Cynthia Deig is Vice President of the Foundation. She is a former high school mathematics teacher and holds a BS in Mathematics from Purdue University. She has volunteered many hours at ELS and as a 4-H leader. She and her husband, Steve, are members of Redeemer. All three of their children are ELS alumni. Cindy and Steve welcomed their fist grandchild last year.

Wayne Deig is a retired language teacher who taught 34 years in the EVSC and holds a BA and MS degree from Indiana State University. He currently volunteers with the sixth, seventh and eighth grade at ELS. He and His wife Patti, an alumna of ELS, are members of St. Paul’s.

Carol Grimm, life-long member of St. Paul's and graduate of St. Paul's grade school, is the secretary of the ELS Foundation. She is a retired Lutheran school teacher, serving forty-three years, mostly here at ELS. Her college education was received at Concordia Ann Arbor, Concordia Chicago, and Indiana University, where she earned her MS in Education.

Joyce Donaldson is a member of Our Redeemer Lutheran Church. She is retired from Luther-an Child and Family services where she served as Area Director and Counselor, LMHS. Currently she serves on the Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors and the USI Foundation Board. She and her husband Greg have two sons, Justin and Nick, and one grandson James Donaldson. Joyce is a graduate of Redeemer Lutheran School and both her sons attended Trinity Darmstadt.

Joyce Lukens taught mathematics at the University of Southern Indiana for 18 years. She has a BBA in accounting from Midwestern State University and an MS in mathematics from Iowa State University. Joyce and her husband Mike are members of Concordia Lutheran Church and their two children are ELS alumni.

James Schwengel retired from EVSC in 1999 where he served 36 years at Harrison High School as a science teacher and four years at Fulton School. He received his undergraduate degree from UE and masters from Indiana University. He is married to June and they are members of Our Redeemer Lutheran Church. They have two sons, Steven of Charleston, South Carolina and Brian of Evansville. Jim has traveled extensively including Australia and New Zealand. He has also taught the Genesis study 16 years as a service to his community and church.

Dorrie LoBue is a local professional in the banking industry. She holds a BS in Business Management from LeTourneau University in Longview, Texas. She was recruited to Evansville from east Texas in 1999. Dorrie is a member of Our Redeemer and is a past member of ELS school board. Dorrie’s daughter, Amy, is a 2010 alumni of ELS. Dorrie substitutes at ELS.

Honorary Lifetime Members

Charles Walker is the retired founder and president of Evana Automation, Inc. He is the president of the Charitable Management Foundation. He is a member of Redeemer Church. Formerly, he was Plant Superintendent of Benerson Corporation and served as Chairman of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers and on the Board of Directors of EPIHAB.

111 East Virginia Street • Evansville, Indiana • (812) 424-7252